IEAA celebrates Australia’s exceptional international education professionals at AEIC 2023

The winners of the 2023 IEAA Excellence Awards were announced during the AIEC Opening Plenary on Wednesday 11 October 2023.

11 Oct 2023

The annual IEAA Excellence Awards recognise and celebrate the exceptional achievements of individuals and teams who contribute to Australia’s reputation for quality and innovation in international education. 

The 2023 awards were presented at the Australian International Education Conference 2023 in Adelaide. The awards are proudly sponsored by Acumin, ETS TOEFL, Pearson PTE Academic,IDP Education, Study Adelaide, and the University of Sydney.

“After another challenging year for the international education community, we continue to see amazing innovations and outstanding contributions from colleagues. It is important that we take a moment to reflect on these achievements and celebrate their successes together,”

said Professor Ren Yi, Vice President of IEAA

The Winners

  • Distinguished Contribution to International Education - Aisla Lamont, Eliza Chui
  • Excellence in Leadership in International Education - Debra Langton
  • Excellence in Professional Commentary Related to International Education - Claire Field
  • Innovation in International Education Award - #TheSocialSource
  • Tony Adams Rising Star Award - Varsha Devi Balakrishnan (high commendation - Devarshi Desai)
  • Outstanding Postgraduate Thesis - Dr Joanne Barker (high commendation - Dr Minh Thi Ngoc Quach)
  • Life Membership - Stephen Connelly
  • Best Practice in International Education - NSW Jobs Connect for International Students, Study NSW and Seek (high commendation - Advancing STEM Education in Papua New Guinea, QUT)

To read more about the winners, visit the IEAA Excellence Awards 2023 page.